Sign In

Early Welcome Program

​​​​​​​​​  2C_Student_2.jpg
In an effort to serve high school seniors, Santiago Canyon College is pleased​ to introduce the Early Welcome program; a joint effort among outreach, admissions, and counseling. This program addresses the importance of maintaining relationships with local high schools by allowing graduating seniors the ability to complete matriculation services in the spring for the upcoming fall semester.

Incoming high school graduates who complete all of the steps of the Early Welcome program will receive priority registration opportunities for both Fall and Spring semester of their first year; a luxury not available at most community colleges.

To participate in this program, students must complete the following steps:

1. Apply to the College​

    • Apply online starting on October 1, 2016. Deadline to apply for Early Welcome is Friday May 12, 2017. 
    • Students must complete the application as if they are already graduates of high school (e.g. The application will ask "Are you a high school graduate?" and the student must say "Yes")

2. Take a Placement Test

    • After completing your application and it has been processed you will receive an email from Outreach asking you to sign up for one of the following testing dates.
    • 2017​ Test Dates:
      • Wednesday February 15- Foothill High at 8am (for FHS students only)
      • Thursday, February 23 – Villa Park High at 8am (for VPHS and Richland HS students only
      • Tuesday, February 28- Santiago High (Corona) at 8am (for SHS students only)
      • Tuesday, March 7- Corona High at 8am (for CHS students only)
      • Wednesday, March 8 – Valencia High at 8am (for VHS students only)
      • ​Thursday, March 9 – El Dorado High at 8am (for EDHS students only)
      • Tuesday, March 14- Esperanza High at 8am (for EHS students only)
      • Wednesday, March 15- Orange High at 8am (for OHS students only)
      • Monday, March 20- Canyon High at 8am (for CHS students only) 
      • Tuesday, March 21- Beckman High at 8am (for BHS students only)
      • Thursday, March 23- Richland High at 8am (for RHS students only) 
      • Monday, March 27 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
      • Tuesday, March 28- Tustin High at 8am (for THS students only) 
      • Monday, April 3 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
      • Tuesday, April 4- Yorba Linda High at 8am (for YLHS students only) 
      • Monday, April 10 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
      • Tuesday, April 11- Hillview High at 8am (for HHS students only) 
      • Monday, April 17 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
      • Tuesday, April 18 – El Modena High (Last Name A-G) at 8am (for EMHS students only)
      • Wednesday, April 19 – El Modena High (Last Name H-P) at 8am (for EMHS students only)
      • Thursday, April 20 – El Modena High (Last Name Q-Z) at 8am (for EMHS students only)
      • Monday, April 24 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
      • Monday, May 1 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
      • Monday, May 8 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
      • Monday, May 15 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm 
      • Monday, May 22 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm 
      • Monday, June 5 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm 
      • Monday, June 12 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm 
      • Monday, June 19 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm

    • Students must bring a photo ID to the test.
    • All testing at SCC is in room E-203.
    • Students can bypass part or all of the placement test by submitting EAP scores, AP (Math or English) scores or completing the SCC CROSSroads program.

3. Attend Orientation at SCC​

    • Students must complete the SCC placement test before being allowed to attend the SCC orientation.
    • Students should bring an unofficial transcript to the orientation.
    • Students will be assigned one of following orientation dates during placement testing
    • ​​2017 Orientation Dates:
      • Friday, April 21- Foothill HS, Villa Park HS, Santiago (Corona)
      • Friday, April 28- Corona HS, Orange HS, Canyon HS, Beckman HS
      • Friday, May 5- Richland, El Dorado, Esperanza, Valencia, Yorba Linda, Hillview HS'
      • Friday, May 12- Tustin HS, El Modena HS
      • Friday, May 19

    • Students attending any of the schools listed above should inquire with their college/career center about free bus transportation to orientation provided by SCC!
    • Orientations begin promptly at 8:30am and end at 1pm. Check in will be in front of the Humanities Building. Check in begins at 8am.
    • Orientation dates will be determined by the placement test date. The earlier the student tests; the earlier the assigned orientation date will be.
    • Parent orientations will also be available on the day of their students orientation. No additional sign up needed, just attend orientation with your student. 
    • If students need to make changes to their assigned orientation date, they can reply to the email that will be sent to them or call 714-628-4808.
    • Parking will be free in the student lots during the orientation with parking pass.
4. Register for Classes Online
    • ​Registration will take place during Orientation and will be assisted by SCC staff and counselors.
    • Students do not need to pay immediately for classes but just know that the deadline to pay for classes is July 5th. If you do not pay you will be dropped from your classes.
​​