Sign In

Early Welcome Program

​​​​​​  2C_Student_2.jpg ​Notice: The dates below are for the 2015-16 Early Welcome program. Please check back in November for 2016-17 Early Welcome dates and times.​
In an effort to serve high school seniors, Santiago Canyon College is pleased​ to introduce the Early Welcome program; a joint effort among outreach, admissions, and counseling. This program addresses the importance of maintaining relationships with local high schools by allowing graduating seniors the ability to complete matriculation services in the spring for the upcoming fall semester.

Incoming students who complete all of the steps of the Early Welcome program will receive priority registration opportunities for both Fall and Spring semester of their first year; a luxury not available at most community colleges.

To participate in this program, students must complete the following steps:

1. Apply to the College​

    • Apply online starting on December 1, 2015. Deadline to apply for Early Welcome is May 12, 2016. 
    • Use an email address that you check consistently. That is how the college communicates with you.
    • Students must complete the application as if they are already graduates of high school e.g. The application will ask "Are you a high school graduate?" and the student must say "Yes".

2. Take a Placement Test

    • After completing your application and it has been processed you will receive an email from Outreach asking you to sign up for one of the following testing dates.
    • 2016 Test Dates:      
        • Thursday, February 18 – Villa Park High at 8am (for VPHS and Richland HS students only)
        • Tuesday, February 23 – Canyon High at 8am (for CHS students only)
        • Thursday, February 25 – Foothill High at 8am (for FHS students only)
        • Wednesday, March 2 – Valencia High at 8am (for VHS students only)
        • Monday, March 7 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
        • Monday, March 14 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
        • Tuesday, March 15 – Orange High at 8am (for OHS students only)
        • Thursday, March 17 –​ Esperanza High at 8am (for EHS students only)
        • Thursday, March 17 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm (math retake only)
        • Monday, March 21 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
        • Tuesday, March 22 – El Dorado High at 8am (for EDHS students only)
        • Monday, March 28 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
        • Wednesday, March 30 – Tustin High at 8am (for THS students only)
        • Thursday, March 31 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm (math retake only)
        • Monday, April 11 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
        • Thursday, April 14 – Yorba Linda High at 8am (for YLHS students only)
        • Monday, April 18 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
        • Tuesday, April 19 – El Modena High (Last Name A-L) at 8am (for EMHS students only)
        • Thursday, April 21 – El Modena High (Last Name M-Z) at 8am (for EMHS students only)
        • Thursday, April 21 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm (math retake only)
        • Monday, April 25 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
        • Monday, May 2 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
        • Monday, May 9 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm
        • Thursday, May 12 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm (math retake only)
        • Monday, May 16 – Santiago Canyon College (E-203) at 3pm 

    • Students must bring a photo ID to the test.
    • All testing at SCC is in room E-203.
    • Students can bypass part or all of the placement test by submitting EAP scores, AP (Math or English) scores or completing the SCC CROSSroads program.

3. Attend Orientation at SCC​

    • Students must complete the SCC placement test before being allowed to attend the SCC orientation.
    • Students should bring an unofficial transcript to the orientation.
    • Students will be assigned one of following orientation dates during placement testing
    • ​​2016 Orientation Dates:
      • Friday, April 22 
      • Friday, April 29 
      • Friday, May 6
      • Friday, May 13
      • Friday, May 20
    • Orientations begin promptly at 8:30am and end at 1pm. Check in will be in front of the Humanities Building. Check in begins at 8am.
    • Orientation dates will be determined by the placement test date. The earlier the student tests; the earlier the assigned orientation date will be.
    • Parent orientations will also be available on the day of their students orientation. No additional sign up needed, just attend orientation with your student. 
    • If students need to make changes to their assigned orientation date, they can reply to the email that will be sent to them or call 714-628-4808.
    • Parking will be free in the student lots during the orientation with parking pass. 
​​
4. Register for Classes Online
    • ​Registration will take place during Orientation and will be assisted by SCC staff and counselors.
    • Students do not need to pay immediately for classes but just know that the deadline to pay for classes is July 5th. If you do not pay you will be dropped from your classes.
​​