Sign In

Planning & Institutional Effectiveness Committee

As Santiago Canyon College’s central planning committee, the Planning & Institutional Effectiveness (PIE) committee is charged with reviewing all requests for resource allocation and making recommendations to the College Council.


  • Review all college planning documents and ensure that recommendations are consistent with those plans
  • Review college-wide resource allocation requests and evaluate them based on how well they support the college mission and meet institutional goals
  • Utilize, evaluate, and revise rubrics for resource allocation, expansion, and contraction recommendations
  • Review all requests to “Apply for a Grant” and assess short / long term implications ​including financial viability
  • Consult with the Santiago Canyon College Budget Committee to determine available funding for PIE prioritized recommendations and refine recommendations based on feedback from the SCC Budget Committee
  • Regularly administer a survey to seek input for improvement of planning processes from the college community
  • Assess progress toward achieving stated institutional goals
  • Provide annual planning cycle to the college community​


One Administrator and Academic Senate President


  • 4 College Vice Presidents (Satele, Stringer, Vargas, Quimzon as designee)
  • Dean, Institutional Effectiveness, Library & Learning Support Services (Voelcker)
  • 3 Classified Staff with 1 from Student Services/Support Services (appointed by CSEA)
  • 1 Student
  • 12 Faculty—One each from the following areas: 
    • Academic Senate President or designee (Rutan)
    • Budget Committee Chair or designee (Deeley)
    • CIC Chair or designee (Diaz)
    • Continuing Education (Hernandez)
    • EMC Committee Chair or designee (Diaz)
    • EMPC Chair or designee (Crammer)
    • Facility Committee Chair or designee (Sakamotot)
    • Honors Committee Chair or designee  (TBD)
    • Library (Daugherty)
    • Student Services/Support Services (Hedenberg)
    • Student Success Committee Chair or designee (TBD)​
    • Technology Committee Chair or designee​​​ (James)