Sign In

Vet Net Ally

​​​

2019-07-16_140748.jpg 


The VET NET Ally Mission

Developed at CSU Long Beach, the VET NET Ally Program is an education and awareness program that develops a network of faculty, staff, administrators and students committed to creating a welcoming and supportive campus environment for military service members and veterans here at Santiago Canyon College.


 

The VET NET Ally Program supports the academic freedom and professional, personal, and social success of service members and veterans, provides support, information, and assistance for service members and veterans, respects the right to privacy and confidentiality of veterans and service members in accordance with the Confidentiality Statement in the VET NET Ally Handbook, and creates a welcoming environment for service members and veterans at SAC by having Allies across campus display their VET NET Ally symbols at their workstations.

 ​

Seminar Information

The VET NET Ally seminar is a half day event focused on the needs and concerns of military service members and veterans studying at SCC.


The seminar includes:

  •   VET NET Ally program mission and SCC's approach to assisting veterans in their academic pursuits
  •  Veterans experiences in the classroom
  •  Military and post-service culture
  •  Why I joined
  •  Who would you tell? - An experiential activity addressing the reasons men and women may or may not talk about their military experience
  • Veterans issues in Higher Education
  • Student veteran panel
  • Being an Ally

At the end of the seminar, participants are given a decal to display in their workspace to show that they are Allies to SCC's student veterans.

VET NET Ally Programs at the Regional University

As our veterans transition to the University, we are proud to be a part of an extended network of professionals that have also participated in the VET NET Ally Program. Look for the VET NET Ally decal at any of the following universities.
 
Regional Universities​

CSU-Dominguez Hills
CSU-Fullerton
CSU-Long Beach
CSU-Los Angeles
University of California, Irvine
University of California, Los Angeles
University of Southern California
Vanguard University​


VET NET Allies at SCC​

 

​Leonor Aguilera 
Counseling (D-106)
Aguilera_Leonor@sccollege.edu
Joseph Alonzo 
Office of Student Equity and Success (A-213)
Alonzo_Joseph@sccollege.edu
Elizabeth Bergara
Veteran Services Office (A-210)
Bergara_Elizabeth@sccollege.edu
Robert Bustamante
Student Life & Leadership (A-206)
Bustamante_Robert@sccollege.edu
​Diana Casares
Student Life & Leadership (A-206)
Casares_Diana@sccollege.edu
​AJ Cully
Enrollment & Support Services (E-202)
Cully_AJ@sccollege.edu
​Seth Daugherty
Library (L-117)
Daugherty_Seth@sccollege.edu
​Sue Denim
Financial Aid Office (E-106)
Denim_Susan@sccollege.edu
​Vanessa Engstrom
Geography (H-319)
Engstrom_Vanessa@sccollege.edu
Kevin Eperjesi
Political Science (H-111)
Eperjesi_Kevin@sccollege.edu
Corinna Evett
English (H-221)
Evett_Corinna@sccollege.edu
​Marilyn Flores
VP ​Academic Affairs (A-201)
Flores_Marilyn@sccollege.edu
Tiffany Garbis
Graduation Office (E-101-1)
Garbis_Tiffany@sccollege.edu
​Tiffany Guase
Sociology (H-314)
Gause_Tiffany@sccollege.edu
Allison Gloe
Art (H-111)
Gloe_Allison@sccollege.edu​
​Sara Gonzalez
English (H-219)
Gonzalez_Sara@sccollege.edu
Kendrick Kim
Real Estate (U-83)
Kim_Kendrick@sccollege.edu
Kathy Kosuth-Wood
English (H-222)
Kosuth-Wood_Kathryn@sccollege.edu
​Sonya Langelier
On Campus Job Placement (E-104)
Langelier_Sonya@sccollege.edu
Lizbeth Maldonado 
Counseling (D-106)
Maldonado_Apaez_Lizbeth@sccollege.edu
​Linda Martin
Library (L105-5)
Martin_Linda@sccollege.edu
​Ryan Murphy
English (H-221)
Murphy_Ryan@sccollege.edu
Nidzara Pecenkovic
English (H-223)
Pecenkovic_Nidzara@sccollege.edu
​Mike Rinaldi
Disabled Student Program & Services (E-105)
Rinaldi_Michael@sccollege.edu
Sergio Rodriguez
Admissions & Records (E-101)
Rodriguez_Sergio@sccollege.edu
Liz Thomas
Financial Aid Office (E-104)
​Thomas_Liz@sccollege.edu
Clinton Schooler
Counseling (D-104-N)
Schooler_Clinton@sccollege.edu
​Steven Stenersen
Veteran Services Office (A-210)
Stenersen_Steven@sccollege.edu
​Jonelle Strickland
English (H-111)
Strickland_Jonelle@sccollege.edu
Rudy Tjiptahadi
Institutional Effectiveness & Research (L-110)
Tjiptahadi_Rudy@sccollege.edu
Philip Tran
Disabled Student Program & Services (E-105)
Tran_Philip@sccollege.edu
Sheena Tran
Financial Aid Office (E-106)
Tran_Sheena@sccollege.edu
​Robert Valeriote
Mathematics (SC-210)
Valeriote_Robert@sccollege.edu
​Alex Vega
Veteran Services Office (A-210)
Vega_Alexandria@sccollege.edu
​Melinda Womack 
Communication (H-310)
Womack_Melinda@sccollege.edu
Ian Woodhead
Kinesiology (G-206-03)
Woodhead_Ian@sccollege.edu